Why wait for New Year to make your resolution…

We all make new year resolutions… but how many of them last a month… better yet last for more than a week? It´s funny how we let the busyness of life consume us… and then when we stop and look up it´s already November… another year has passed.

Did you accomplished what you set out to do in January 2011??

So its been about 2 weeks since my last post… and over those couple of weeks I´ve been doing a challenge to basically turn my life around and get rid of old habits that are holding me back or preveting me from really achieving my full potential in all aspects of my life from spirituality to financially and everything else in-between.

I was able to gain clarity and define the direction I wanted my life to go. An example was my relationship with God: the foundation of my life and the reason why I am here today. So many times I have woken up early each morning to do my devotion… promised to stop doing a certain thing or break habit… and worked on improving my prayer life. And the thing I´ve found which I think many of you can relate to is that you start soo strong and on fire but somewhere along the line you press the snooze button on your alarm in the morning, or you are running so late for work or school you put off your devotion or you´re too tired at the end of the day to read your Bible. Somewhere along the line you start getting distracted, your work and other things take over you life leaving you exhausted and and feeling like there are not enough hours in the day. Before you know, your Bible is gathering dust on your bedside table and you haven´t been on your knees for a long time…

So that is basically one of the things I addressed, it is so easy to relax and put things off especially when things start getting a little challenging and we find it hard to keep up even with ourselves. Long term goals are great and I´m sure you have goals in your life on where you want to be at the end of the year or in 5 years time. Then you have short term goals which are just as important in keeping you focused on what you want to acheive.

Here´s the thing about procrastination aka the thief of time; you only need to put something off once and before you know it, a month has passed and you are nowhere near to finishing that project you started or running out of time with the report you had so long to write for school, or you still haven´t lost the pounds you set out to lose.

The problem in life is that there’s not much immediate gratification. It’s all about instant results… so what happens is that you don’t see enough change right away, you don’t see the amazing results you’d like to get and you know you’re capable of right away.  And that is definitely one thing I have personally discovered, I can start something with so much determination and then after about 2 weeks I start relaxing.

Soooo during my 2 week challenge to help me become and stay focused I have decided to:

1) Start each day as though it is day one of my goal. Take each day at a time.

2) Saying positive affirmations throughout your day. eg, “I AM Focused”. or  “I AM moving, breathing, creating from a space of Grace, Growth & Gratitude. I AM living & loving MY journey.”

3) De-clutter your life,… how will you receive something new if your life is so full of unnecessary baggage. That includes your home, your relationships (either ending or enhancing them)  and our thoughts.

4) Get healthy… this includes juicing (well in my case going to a juice bar since I dnt currently have juicer), increasing my raw food intake and doing regular exercise.

5) Quiet my life and make time to meditate and be still…sometimes we get so lost in our own life it´s good to stop and take a step back to gain some perspective on life and everything that we have been blessed with 🙂

These are just a few of the things that I have incorporated and started in my life. What is the point of waiting a couple months to start a new year resolution especially when tomorrow is not promised! I have some major goals I want to succeed and as I accomplish I will definitely be updating and sharing the experiences that I go through on this journey called life.

I don´t know about you but I am starting my resolution… no time like the present…while some are waiting for “January 2012” others are already making things happen now!! What are your resolutions going to be?

“Never put off till tomorrow when you can do it today.”

XOXO

Leave a Reply

